India Vacation Packages

The Maharajas Express -India Vacation Packages

The Maharajas Express is the new name for luxury in India. The Maharajas Express luxury train tour offers four luxurious journeys to choose from. Pick yours today!
Bhutan Travel Package Bhutan Travel Packages Exotic Vacations
Oil Massage
India Travel Packages
Read in Your Language : EspañolFrançais DeutschItalianoPortuguês

India Vacation Packages   »  India Travel Packages  »  The Maharajas Express

Plan Your Tour

The Maharajas Express

IRCTC (Indian Railways Catering and Tourism Corporation) and Cox and Kings India have come together to form a joint venture - Royale India Rail Tours Pvt Ltd. The result of this joint venture is a magnificent train that has been built from scratch and is named the Maharajas Express. The name is apt as the train offers luxuries and an ambiance that befits the royal families of the erstwhile Indian princely states. And to enjoy this royalty in a matter of seven to eight days is something that every heart yearns for.

The Luxuries of the Maharajas Express

So, what exactly are the luxuries offered by this new member of the Indian luxury train family? To start with, there are fourteen carriages for passengers to stay in. Of these five are for Deluxe cabin, six for Junior Suites, two for suites and one for grand Presidential suite. The cabins have large windows which offer elaborate views of the places that train crosses through. Apart from this, every cabin is equipped with individual temperature controls, LCD televisions, DVD players, direct dial telephone, internet and electronic safe deposit box.

Two magnificent restaurant - Haveli and Peacock - with the capacity to accommodate all the travellers together serve mouthwatering dishes whereas the bar - Machan - offers the best quality liquor. An observation lounge and a boutique add to your luxuries.

At every destination, transportation will be made available for you. For the travelers of Deluxe cabins and Junior suites, a Deluxe coach is arranged while cars are arranged for travellers of Suites and Presidential suites.

The Maharaja Express - Detailed Itinerary - IVP - 035
Now, this is an even more interesting part since you have four journeys to choose from. The itinerary in brief, of the journey is as follows:

Princely India (8 days/7 nights)
Mumbai - Vadodara - Udaipur - Jodhpur - Bikaner - Jaipur - Ranthambore - Agra - Delhi

Royal India (7 Days / 6 Nights)
Delhi - Agra - Ranthambore - Jaipur - Bikaner - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Vadodara - Mumbai

Classical India(7 Days / 6 Nights)
Delhi - Agra - Gwalior - Khajuraho - Bandhavgarh - Varanasi - Gaya - Kolkata

Celestial India(8 Days / 7 Nights)
Kolkata - Gaya - Varanasi - Bandhavgarh - Khajuraho - Agra - Gwalior - Delhi

The Detailed Itinerary Princely India (8 days/7 nights)

Day 1: Board the Maharaja Express in Mumbai. Depart for Gujarat. Dinner on board

Day 2 : Visit Champaner Pavagadh Archaeological Park that has been designated a world heritage site. Lunch at Jambughoda Palace. Also visit Maharaja Fateh Singh Museum and have tea at laxmi Vilas Palace. Depart for Udaipur. Dinner on board

Day 3 : Udaipur Sightseeing tour. Enjoy City Palace, Mor Chowk and Moti mahal. Post lunch go for a walking tour of Old Market of Udaipur. Depart for Jodhpur. Dinner on board.

Day 4: Jeep safari to the villages near Jodhpur. Visit to Bishnoi village. Lunch at Rohetgarh.Post lunch visit to the majestic Mehrangarh Fort. Depart for Bikaner. Dinner on board.

Day 5 : Visit to Junagarh fort. Lunch at the palace hotel. Enjoy a royal journey to sand dunes later. Depart for Jaipur. Dinner on board.

Day 6 : Sighseeing of Jaipur city by jeep including the Amber fort and the hamlet of Kukas. Enjoy elephant polo match at the latter destination. Post lunch, enjoy shopping.Depart for sawai Madhopur. Dinner on board.

Day 7 : Explore the wildlife of Ranthambore National Park. Later, reach Agra and go for a bit of shopping. Dinner on board.

Day 8: View the beauty of the Taj Mahal early in the morning. Depart for & reach Delhi Delhi. Journey ends.

Royal India (7 Days / 6 Nights)
Royal India is the same journey as the Princely India with the only difference being that this one starts from Delhi and culminates in Mumbai.

Classical India(7 Days / 6 Nights)
Day 1: Board the Maharaja Express in Delhi and move to Agra. In Agra, visit the Agra fort and the Taj Mahal. Lunch at Taj Khema. Evening for shopping. Depart for Gwalior. Dinner on board.

Day 2: Sightseeing at Gwalior including the Gwalior fort, Jai Vilas Palace and Scindia Museum. Lunch at Usha Kiran Palace. Depart for Khajuraho. Dinner on board.

Day 3: Enjoy the sculptures at the cave temples of Khajuraho. Post lunch interact with villagers and go for a village walk. Depart for Umaria. Dinner on board.

Day 4:
Today have a rendezvous with the wild animals of Bandhavgarh National park which has the highest population of tigers in the country. Depart for Varanasi. Dinner on board.

Day 5 : Enjoy watching a beautiful sunrise and go for a cruise in river Ganges. Walk through the city and visit temples. Later visit the Varanasi Silk Weaving Centre and shop for the beautiful Benarsi sarees. Post lunch visit Sarnath, one of four holy places in Buddhism where Lord Buddha delivered his first sermon after attaining enlightenment. Return to Varanasi & depart for Gaya. Dinner on board.

Day 6: Explore the ruins of Nalanda and Rajgir. Post lunch visit Bodh Gaya, the place where Lord Buddha attained enlightenment. Depart for Kolkata. Dinner on boards. Celestial India(8 Days / 7 Nights) Follows the same route as the Classical India with the difference that it starts in Kolkata instead of Delhi.

Day 7 : Arrive Kolkata. Journey ends.

Celestial India(8 Days / 7 Nights)
Follows the same route as the Classical India with the difference that it starts in Kolkata instead of Delhi.

Departure Dates
Princely India
October 2010 - 9th, 23rd
November 2010 - 20th
December 2010 - 4th

Royal India October 2010 - 3rd, 17th
November 2010 - 14th, 28th
December 2010 - 26th

Classical India
September 2010 - 19th
October 2010 - 31st
December 2010 - 12th

Celestial India
September 2010 - 25th
November 2010 - 6th
December 2010 - 18th
Interested? Contact Us.

Booking Information/Reservation
Couple in Love  
Colors Couple in Love   Holiday Packages